Buy this exceptional castle
ONLY 30 MINUTES FROM BUDAPEST
ESTATE FOR SALE NEAR BUDAPEST, HUNGARY
XVIII. CENTURY CASTLE
The castle sits on a scenic park with hundreds of 50-200 year old ancient trees, complete with a 600 m² lake, tennis- and volleyball court. The Southern park of the garden is crossed by a stream.
THE CASLE INSIDE
THE CASTLE BOASTS 7 BEDROOMS, 8 BATHROOMS AND A NUMBER OF SHARED SPACES
The building is a historical monument, the restoration was substantial and extended to the most minor details. The real estate’s value is further raised by the custom furniture, and solid oak- and redwood frames.
POOL, JACUZZI, SAUNA, FITNESS...
The 400m² wellness department is one of the estate’s crown jewels. The heated space houses a Jacuzzi, a sauna, a well-equipped fitness facility and a 15 x 5 m pool complete with a flush drain system.
FURTHER INFO ABOUT THE ESTATE
This picturesque yet unostentatious 18th century estate is a part of history.
The castle’s restoration was carried out with close technical and historic supervision, with using only state-of-the-art materials to stay faithful to the original architecture.
The 1500 m² construction is a single story luxury building harmonically blending the past and the future, providing an unmatched experience for its residents.
Living quarters amount to 1100 m², accompanied by the 400 m² new wing containing the pool, the fitness facility and the garage with six pits.
The intimate and scenic courtyard is 800 m². The castle is especially ideal for a multi-generational home, thanks to its functional spaces and energy efficient technical design and its proximity to Budapest. (Budapest-Vácduka 25 kms).
The estate boasts 7 bedrooms with private bathrooms besides the shared spaces. The dining room’s solid oak dining table sits 24 people comfortably.
Aside from the garage the whole castle has built-in underfloor heating, comprised of a Vaillant stoker-system and heat-pumps. Every room has its own thermostat, so the temperature can be controlled separately.
The 15 x 5 m waveless pool complete with a flush drain system is housed in the ferroconcrete building completed in 2010. Adjacent to the pool is the state-of-the art fitness facility, complete with professional fitness machines, a sauna and a bathroom.
The estate’s park sits on 6.5 hectares, with its unique, ancient trees, that are held in high national regard. There is not another privately owned park of this magnificent beauty. Right next to the lake at the centre of the park sits a 150-year-old sycamore tree, surrounded by hundreds of 50-200 year old trees, that we humans, birds, squirrels watch in awe.
Come visit, see, enjoy and make an offer on this exceptional estate.
HISTORY OF VÁCDUKA CASTLE
The first historical mention of Duka dates back to 1295, when Michael, the son of Zaah of family, who had previously pledged to Master Kokos, the son of István, sold it to him for 60 Marks. The settlement is also mentioned in the papal tithe register of 1332-37, at that time it belonged ecclesiastically to the archdiocese of Vác diocese. During the Turkish wars, the village was destroyed and was not re-settled until the middle of the 18th century.
After the Turkish era , the Grassalkovics family owned Duka until 1736 , when the estate was sold by Rudnyánszky Joseph II.. We learned about this from a charter of 1736, which remains in the Rudnyánszky archives. Rudnyánszky József II. lived in Pest County from 1758 as a royal plaque agent, and in 1773 he received the rank of baron. By this time the representative castle erected by the lord had to stand on Bangor Hill in Duka. There is a written record of the chapel of the bangor-hill castle from 1777, then András Vályi also mentions the castle in his work of 1796.
The castle may have been destroyed at an unknown time (probably burned down), because in the monograph of Pest-Pilis-Solt-Kiskun County published in 1910, Samu Borovszky no longer mentioned the castle, only the so-called He mentions Forray's lord. Moreover, András Forray was born in 1858. On the demarcation map of Júlia Gr. Brunswick, there is a manorial wine house on Bangor Hill and a manorial mill at the foot of the mountain, but nowhere is a castle.
The Rudnyánszky family owned Duka until 1848, when Júlia Brunswick, acquired the estate, then Albin Latinovits in the last quarter of the 19th century. At the time of the birth of Samu Borovszky's monograph, the estate belonged to Count János Serényi, which the family owned until 1945.
We cannot be preclusive of that our building was originally the manor house of the former, destroyed castle, but no data could be found in the Rudnyánszky archives. In any case, on the 1780 military map we see a "U" -shaped building, and on the 1858 subdivision map we see a "U" -shaped castle with a protruding central radical. The stems of the castle were connected by narrower buildings, probably for economic purposes (barn, carriage color). On the 1885 cadastral map we find a slightly different state. The rear buildings here seem to be the same width as the main building, perhaps the barn and car color were enlarged by this time.
In 1906, the building burned down, and perhaps the reconstruction that was traced during the wall research can be linked to this post-burn-in renovation.
After the transitional functions after 1945, the next long-term change of function took place in the life of our castle in 1957, when it became a foster home for four decades .
If you would like to know more about the history of the castle, don't hesitate to contact us.
PRICE OF THE PROPERTY
957 MILLION - 1,670 MILLION
HUNGARIAN FORINTS (HUF)
* The 957 million includes the castle building and the surrounding 1 hectare area. The complete price of the castle and the entire 6.5-hectare park is HUF 1,670 million.